Why isn’t mayonnaise vegan – despite its white color, it’s well known that it doesn’t contain any milk? It’s simple: even though it’s completely dairy-free, regular mayonnaise isn’t vegan because it’s made by mixing a raw egg with oil. So conventional mayo contains eggs and they are vegetarian, but not vegan.
So how do you make mayonnaise without eggs? And what does vegan mayonnaise actually contain? Where can you buy vegan mayonnaise and what makes bedda mayo so special? Here are our tips for vegan mayonnaise.
Vegan Mayo: Ingredients & Alternatives
We now know that regular mayo is made with eggs, but what are the ingredients in vegan mayo? In terms of the basic ingredients, normal mayonnaise does not differ from purely plant-based mayo – the basis of both is oil, whereby both variants can contain sunflower oil, rapeseed oil or olive oil.
Vegan mayo is not just vegan mayo, there are different versions. Depending on the brand of plant-based mayo, you will find, for example, soy mayonnaise or vegan mayo without soy in stores – but also refined mayonnaise products such as vegan garlic mayo.
And what is the egg substitute for vegan mayo? Quite simple: there is none. The egg is not responsible for the success of a creamy mayo – perfect mayo stands and falls with the way it is prepared.
The benefits of vegan mayonnaise
There can be various reasons why you choose a vegan mayo instead of a conventional mayonnaise. For us, the following advantages of vegan mayonnaise speak for themselves:
- Plant-based: Vegan mayo is purely plant-based. It contains neither egg nor cow’s milk and is therefore suitable for people who eat vegan.
- Lactose-free: Vegan mayo contains no milk, so no lactose. Without the milk, vegan mayo is ideal for people who suffer from milk sugar intolerance or lactose intolerance.
- Healthy: Vegan mayonnaise may be healthier than regular mayonnaise: Traditional mayonnaise sometimes contains preservatives and saturated fat, which can lead to health problems if consumed in excess. Depending on which plant-based mayonnaise you choose, you can choose a healthy alternative here. It was important to us to produce the bedda mayo without flavor enhancers and without palm oil – but with good rapeseed oil.
Eco-friendly: Vegan mayo can be more eco-friendly than traditional mayonnaise – here, of course, it depends on the ingredients of the plant-based mayo. For the bedda Mayo, it was important to us not to use palm oil or soy.
- Low in calories: Vegan mayo may have fewer calories than regular mayo. For comparison: 100g bedda mayo contains 472 calories, conventional mayonnaise from well-known brands contain around 700 calories.
Here you will find the nutritional information for the vegan bedda mayo.
Vegan mayonnaise: the most important questions
How long does vegan mayo last?
Vegan mayo may have a longer shelf life than conventional mayonnaise because it contains no egg or milk and therefore does not (always) have to be refrigerated. With the vegan mayo from bedda you will find the best before date on the packaging. However, we recommend that you check the product for smell and taste, because many foodstuffs can be enjoyed much longer than the best-before date specifies.
Is there vegan mayonnaise without soy?
Many vegan mayonnaises are made with soy “milk”. At bedda, we decided to produce our plant-based mayo without soy and continued to formulate until the bedda mayo met our high standards of taste and creaminess.
What can I cook with vegan mayo?
Vegan mayo – and also vegan garlic mayo in the form of aioli – is the ideal accompaniment for sandwiches, baguettes and rolls. But you can do so much more with plant-based mayonnaise than just smearing it on bread: Vegan mayo is suitable for gratinating, for casseroles and gratins.
Our chefs regularly conjure up creative dishes with the bedda mayo: be inspired by our vegan recipe ideas with mayonnaise!
Vegan mayo: DIY recipe
You spontaneously feel like fries with mayo, but you don’t have mayo at home? The question quickly arises: Can you make vegan mayo yourself? Yes – you can easily make vegan mayo yourself – and you probably already have the ingredients on hand.
To make vegan mayonnaise yourself, all you need is:
- a milk alternative
- a little lemon juice or vinegar
You use 2 parts oil to 1 part milk alternative (e.g. soy drink), a pinch of salt and a little vinegar or lemon juice (1-2 teaspoons).
The type of preparation is important: You need a powerful blender (a hand blender will do instead of a food processor) and first mix all the ingredients apart from the oil. Mix briefly at high speed and then add the oil little by little – in a small stream. The longer you blend, the firmer and creamier the consistency of the vegan mayo will be.
You can use different types of oil, e.g. B. rapeseed oil, sunflower oil or olive oil. As a milk alternative, you can use either soy milk or almond milk, if you use oat milk the consistency may not be quite as thick, but more like a salad dressing.
Buy vegan mayo
More and more often you can buy vegan mayonnaise not only in organic food stores, but also in conventional supermarkets – either in the refrigerated section or in the normal section of the delicatessen department. The vegan mayonnaise alternatives are called “vegan mayo”, “veganaise” or simply “bedda Mayo“.
bedda Mayo – vegan Mayo from bedda
bedda’s vegan mayo meets all of our requirements for vegan mayonnaise: no palm oil, no flavor enhancers, gluten-free and soy-free – we even like it better than conventional mayonnaise. Convince yourself of our plant-based mayo without egg and lactose – you will love it!
Discover bedda Mayo – the delicious vegan alternative to mayonnaise.