Vegan Tartar sauce, does it actually exist? Of course! You can easily “veganize” the classic sauce of French origin – or buy it as a plant-based alternative in the store. In this article, you’ll learn all about the benefits of vegan Tartar Sauce, how to make it yourself, and what variations of it are available.
Tartar sauce and vegan alternatives
When it comes to tartar sauce, it is not uncommon to have misunderstandings about what it actually is. Therefore, let’s first clarify what exactly Tartar Sauce is, where it comes from and what it is served with.
Tartar Sauce originally comes from France, but is now eaten everywhere in Europe and beyond. It is an important ingredient in the southern cuisine of the USA, where it is known as “Louisiana Remoulade” or is eaten as a sauce with hot dogs.
Tartar Sauce is a cold sauce based on a mayonnaise. To the basic ingredient mayonnaise are added various spices, herbs or vegetables that make it a Tartar Sauce.
The basic ingredients of Tartar Sauce are oil, lemon juice or wine-vinegar, egg yolk and mustard. Other ingredients are herbs such as tarragon, parsley and chervil. Very important for a classic Tartar Sauce are finely chopped anchovy fillets and finely diced gherkins. Tartar Sauce is available in many different variations, with different national cuisines interpreting it differently.
These are the most famous Tartar Sauce variations:
- France: Classic Tartar Sauce
French tartar sauce is made from mayonnaise to which vinegar, mustard, shallots, pickles, capers and herbs are added. Traditionally, finely chopped anchovy fillets are also included in a French tartar sauce. Tartar Sauce is an important ingredient for the dish “Célerie Rémoulade”, which is served as a side dish with meat or fish.
- Danish Tartar Sauce
No Danish hot dog without Danish Tartar Sauce, that’s for sure! The Danish Tartar Sauce version is very similar to the French one, except that it usually looks very yellow – that’s from the turmeric or curry powder added to it. Sometimes carrots or pieces of cauliflower also find their way into the Tartar Sauce.
- German Tartar Sauce
In Germany, the classic French-style Tartar Sauce is usually served. It is used as a base for potato salad, with fish sandwiches or with meat dishes such as Kassler with potatoes.
If you eat a plant-based diet, you have several options for replacing classic Tartar Sauce with a vegan alternative. You can now find plant-based Tartar Sauce in conventional supermarkets – or you can take the trouble to prepare it yourself. You can be creative and put together your Tartar Sauce the way you like it.
How you can easily make vegan Tartar Sauce yourself, we tell you now.
Vegan tartar sauce - without egg & anchovies
It’s easy to make your own tartar sauce. If you are on a vegan diet, you can easily make a vegetable tartar sauce without eggs and anchovies with our recipe.
Vegan tartar sauce: DIY recipe
You have several options to make vegan tartar sauce yourself. In the simplest version, you simply take a vegan mayonnaise as a base and add the other ingredients. If you have a little more time, you can also make the vegan mayonnaise yourself according to our recipe.
- 150 ml vegan mayonnaise
- 1 tsp mustard
- 1-2 gherkins
- 2 stalks dill
- 2 stalks parsley
- Some chives
- 10 capers
- Salt & pepper
- Cut gherkins into fine pieces. Chop dill, parsley and chives.
- Put all the ingredients in a bowl.
- Mix vigorously with a whisk until a sauce is formed. Done!
Buy Vegan Tartar Sauce
You can find vegan Tartar Sauce in the organic food store, but also in the supermarket and possibly in discount stores.
You can find the delicious vegan Tartar Sauce from bedda under the name “bedda Tartar Sauce”.
bedda Tartar Sauce - Vegan Tartar Sauce from bedda
The vegan Tartar Sauce alternative from bedda is exactly what we want from a vegetable Tartar Sauce: without palm oil, without flavor enhancers and also gluten-free and soy-free.
!Convince yourself of our wonderfully creamy bedda Tartar Sauce – because it simply tastes better!